Higher Education News

Chancellor, four other faculty named to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Chancellor Andrew D. Martin and four other faculty members of Washington University in St. Louis were elected members of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the academy announced April 22. The others are Deanna Barch, John Baugh, Pascal Boyer and Holden Thorp.

Founded in 1780, the academy honors exceptional scholars, leaders, artists and innovators and engages them in sharing knowledge and addressing challenges facing the world.

“I congratulate my colleagues on this significant professional achievement,” Provost Beverly Wendland said. “They are true leaders in their fields, and I am pleased and proud that their meritorious achievements have been recognized by this esteemed honor. Their scholarly work has contributed to advancing knowledge, and we’re fortunate to have such talented scholars at WashU.”

Read full story in The Source